Slimming World #1 | Motivation

“The best way to predict the future is to create it”

So, this is my first post about Slimming World. Most of my friends and family know I joined in September 2015. It works, my sister joined at the exact same time and she has lost so much however, I’m at a standstill. I know why, the obvious – I like food, I make the wrong choices and I’ve never enjoyed salads etc. even though everyone told me I should.

I’ve lost a stone so far, which I’m pleased with however, I keep yo-yoing and can’t seem to get to my 1 and a half stone. I feel that maybe if I start logging my journey like this then maybe it might highlight other areas I might be going wrong, plus motivate me to put a bit more effort in.

I also think that there are a lot of people who might be going through the same thing, and the more help the better.

So, my weigh-in is on a Monday at 7pm (yeah, joys to that) however, Monday just gone I had to go to an afternoon session (glad it was a Bank Holiday!) and I am happy to say I lost 3.5lb, I should probably state that the week before I’d put on 7lb, which I’ll admit I was horrified! I kind of knew where it must have come from however, that didn’t change the fact it stopped me cold.

The week after I kind of felt a bit ‘meh’ about the whole thing, I didn’t want to think about it – maybe that helped with my weight-loss? I wasn’t actively going out to sabotage myself however, I wasn’t putting to much thought into plan.

This week I am determined, the 3.5lb loss (plus back down to 1st lost) helped me remember that I can do this and the journey won’t be easy. It will be long and difficult, and I will have weeks where I horrify myself but then hopefully I’ll also have weeks where I amaze myself. It’s about finding that balance I suppose – I’m no expert on this subject by any means! I want to learn more, and I do want to lose weight – not for anyone else except myself.

I feel I may need to plan more of my day when it comes to breakfast/lunch/dinner etc. I tend to just go with the flow, which does of course get me into trouble quite a lot of the time.

I hope that  if anyone is reading this it helps in some form, whether it’s for weight-loss or something else entirely.

Everyone needs motivation not to give up, I certainly do a lot of the time.

Some things you can do to help you if you feel you are losing motivation, for anything really are – for example:

Speaking to friends or family
I have to admit, sometimes family do go on a bit. They want what’s best for you but instead of being an ear they automatically try to tell you what you’re doing wrong and why you should change – this is useful but sometimes you want to dig deeper, but they’re there for you and you can’t fault them for that.

Friends on the other hand, friends are great because they love you for who you are and wouldn’t think to change a thing about you however, if there’s something you are unhappy with they’ll listen to you talk about it and weigh in. This can be useful because they have an outside perspective, instead of saying what you’re doing wrong and why you should change they’ll tell you what you’re doing right, to keep at that and perhaps dig deeper into why you’re doing the things your doing which could be sabotaging your goal.

Both are good for you because they both love you and want what’s best for you. Never forget that.

Remember why you started

This is a popular one in Slimming World, and probably for quite a few other things as well.

When you’re lost, feel cheated, drained or just plain want to give up – think about why you started in the first place. Plus, don’t just look on the face of it, remember the feeling when you were at that point when you decided you had to make a change, and remember the feeling when you actually started on the journey to make that change. A lot of our choices are life-changing, so do you want to start next month, next week or tomorrow? This will surely mean a consistent delay of your target by another month, week or day. Or, do you want to start the journey and change your life today?

Where do you want to be
Remember, your future-self will thank you if you start today (… well, they won’t. But they won’t despise you, which is equally as important).

Think about where you want to be in the future. Is it weight-loss, or do you want to learn a new skill? How much will that have developed a year from now? Then think how much will it have developed if you keep putting it off until ‘tomorrow’ or if you give up for the week because ‘there’s no point now that I’ve done this, that and the other – I’ll start again next week’ – no. I’ve done this and I kick myself. Yes, it’s going to be hard knowing you’ve had a set back, or feeling as if you’ve had one however, instead of thinking about how you’ve messed up take a deep breath, calm your thoughts and think about it logically. Yes, there’s been a slight set-back however, start working towards bridging that gap instead of making it further away, when you decide to get back to plan (or task) you’ll be thankful for it and you’ll even be proud of yourself!

Remember how far you have come
This one is for people who have already started their journey. If you’re at the point where you feel like you want to give up or wonder what the point is, or if you’re even any good – remember what you’ve already achieved. You know it works, you know you’ve done it before and can do it again. Just keep pushing and you’ll reach your goal. Everyone’s journey is different, don’t look to other people to see what you “should be doing”, work at your own pace and you’ll be happier for it.

Like I said at the beginning, sometimes we all need some support and motivation, I know I do. I really want to stick with this though so hopefully documenting some of the journey will help. I’m hoping to go in next week with a loss. I’m not sure if I can make it tomorrow as I’m working and have a tennis session with some friends in the evening so, quite possibly, until next week!

If anyone has any tips etc. for anyone else who may be reading or have come across this then I’d love to read them, like I say I really want to learn more and just change my lifestyle, so the more help the better!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

