My 2016 Goodreads Challenge

“Ready. Set. GO!”

Yesterday I found out about the 2016 Goodreads Challenge. As It’s now the end of May I’ve set myself a challenge of 24 books. Now I love reading but with work and social engagements I think this would be a challenge however, it looks like I can change my target at any point if it looks like I’m getting close.

I was so tempted to choose books that I know I love (Harry Potter, Divergent, Hunger Games, Dexter etc.) however, I’ve decided to use this challenge to read books that

  1. a) I’ve been meaning to read for a while
  2. b) I’ve never read before and
  3. c) None that are in the middle of a series I’m already reading.

This challenge is for me to not only read the books but find new books/series I love and review each one.

So, here is my list of 24 books, if it does look like I’m getting close I shall do a part 2 with my new target.

  1. The Martian – Andy Weir
  2. Frankenstein – Mary Shelley
  3. The Diary of a Young Girl – Anne Frank
  4. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
  5. I Am Malala – Malala Yousafzai & Christina Lamb
  6. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou
  7. To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  8. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen   (probably the most challenging on the list!)
  9. Animal Farm – George Orwell
  10. 1984 – George Orwell
  11. The Shining – Stephen King
  12. The Fellowship of the Ring – J. R. R. Tolkein
  13. Dracula – Bram Stoker
  14. Room – Emma Donoghue
  15. A Game of Thrones – George R. R. Martin
  16. Life of Pi – Yann Martel
  17. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  18. Username Evie – Joe Sugg
  19. The Fault in Our Stars – John Green   (take it back, this might be the most challenging!)
  20. The Color Purple – Alice Walker
  21. The Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling
  22. The Exorcist – William Peter Blatty
  23. The Omen – David Seltzer
  24. Twelve Years a Slave – Soloman Northup

Let’s get started!

Are you taking the challenge? What books are you reading?
Or what books do you like to read?

I love a good book and am always looking for new ideas.

Whatever you choose – Happy Reading!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. PrisPieDew says:

    You should read ‘A Work in Progress’ by Connor Franta, it’s a must-read book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nicole says:

      Ohh I do like his videos and have been tempted to buy his book on occasion! Thanks for the recommendation! Will be going on my to-read list for sure! (that particular list just keeps getting longer!) 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. PrisPieDew says:

        Yay, you like Connor, too! Go read the book, it’s amazing. I’m waiting for your review about it 💋

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Nicole says:

          😂 I do like Connor Franta, his videos make me smile & I think he’s very insightful.
          Will get on that ASAP! 😝

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

