Slimming World Recipe Ideas

Hi All!

In this post I’m going to go through 3 recipes that I  love making sometime throughout the week (breakfast, lunch and dinner) whilst on Slimming World.

I’m also not the best with cooking etc. Definitely a novice.

1. Overnight Oats
Overnight Oats are something I sometimes forget about but absolutely love. I’ve gotten into porridge as the weather has turned however, I think this is good for any time of year.

Porridge Oats
Fat Free Natural Yoghurt (or Fat Free Yoghurt i.e. Peach, Raspberry, Strawberry)
Fruit (blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, blackberry, orange, peach, apple & cinnamon)

I tend to use Fat Free Natural Yoghurt & Strawberries.
I haven’t added any measurements because I think this depends on what you’re doing with HEXB, Syns, how big your container is etc. so I’ll leave that to you but this is what you will need.

Layer the porridge, yoghurt and fruit in a clip top jar. Leave in the fridge overnight so the porridge absorbs the yoghurt.

In the morning stir together and, if you’d like, add more fruit.

I find this a really good recipe for work the next day because I can take it in a jar and have it at my desk if I’m in a rush, or there’s something already made for the morning before I set off for work.

2. Chicken and Bacon Salad
This one is so simple but I’ve been having it all week this week.
I’ve been trying to re-create a subway salad I like for less of the price. I can’t say I’ve succeeded in the taste but it’s actually turned out better than I thought it would and costs a lot less than buying one everyday.

Diced Chicken
Bacon
Low Calorie Cooking Spray
Lettuce
Tomato
Cucumber
Onion
Sweetcorn
Soy Sauce (optional)
Salt and Pepper
Halloumi Cheese (optional)

Cook the bacon. Cut the diced chicken and cook until no longer pink in the middle. Put both into a bowl and break the bacon into pieces. Then stir in a small amount of soy sauce.

In the container / bowl put in shredded or cut up lettuce, diced tomato, quartered cucumber, diced onion and sweetcorn (I like the Green Giant because it adds sweetness). You can also cook (or not) some Halloumi Cheese, chop some up and add in as your HEX A, again it adds some more flavour.  Add the salt, pepper, chicken and bacon.

I’ve been doing this the night before, leaving it in the fridge overnight and taking it to work the next day.

3. Homemade Slimming World Burgers and Chips
This is personally my favourite to make. I use the Wild West Burger Recipe:

450g 5% Beef Mince
2 Garlic Cloves Crushed
1 Small Onion, Grated
2 level tsp Dijon Mustard
1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
2tbsp Chopped Fresh Parsley
Salt and Freshly Ground Pepper
Low Calorie Cooking Spray

Mix all of the ingredients (except the cooking spray) together and shape into 4 round patties. (I have a quarter pounder burger press) If you want you can beat an egg and add that into the mixture to bind however, this isn’t something I’ve had to do yet.

Spray the burgers on both sides with low calorie cooking spray if cooking on a BBQ or grill however, I usually use a pan and I spray that when cooking. They usually take about 5-6 minutes each side. When cooking I like to add a little more Worcestershire Sauce for more flavour.

For the chips I don’t have a machine that I think a lot of people use so instead I use this recipe:

Potatoes (I think 6 large will do 4 people generously)
Low Calorie Cooking Spray
Garlic Low Calorie Cooking Spray (optional)
Sea Salt
Mixed Herbs (optional)
Paprika (optional)
Garlic Herbs (optional)
Salt and Freshly Ground Pepper

Pre-heat the oven to 200 Degrees Celsius (approx).

Boil the kettle.
Put sea salt in a pot and leave to heat for a few minutes and then pour the boiling water from the kettle into the heated pan. Please be careful not to burn the pot etc. timing needs to be right when doing this. If you don’t feel comfortable doing that then pour the water from the kettle then turn the stove on.

Peel the potatoes then chop into evenly sized chip shapes (this can be difficult to get them the same size however, do as much as you can but don’t worry too much)

Put in the pan with the lid on top and boil for 10-20 minutes (20 can be seen as too much however, goes down equally as well, so don’t worry just be more careful with the next steps).

Drain the water from the pot, with the lid on shake the chips to ‘roughen the edges’ then  add in any seasonings you would like i.e. Mixed Herbs, Paprika, Garlic Herbs, Salt and Pepper. Still in the pot stir carefully being sure to have an equal amount of mixture on the chips.

Spray a baking tray with Low Calorie Cooking spray and then spread the chips evenly into the tray. Once this is done I sometimes add a few sprays of Garlic  Low Calorie Cooking Spray.

Put the chips in the oven for 15 minutes. Take them out, stir them carefully and make sure they’re not sticking to the pan etc. See how well they’re doing then return for another 15 minutes.

Depending on your oven they could cook more quickly or slowly however, I find this works best for me.

Other things I’ve liked doing this week is Weetabix with strawberries and a sprinkling of cinnamon, porridge for breakfasts both with Green Tea. Plus I’ve been drinking a lot more water – I bought a bottle from Hydratem8 and I love it!

Apologies, I didn’t mean for this post to be so long however, these are just a few recipes which I love to make at least once a week.

Ones I would like to try over the next couple of months are: Baked Oats;  Chicken and Bacon Crustless Quiche; Chilli Con Carne; Syn Free Ice Cream.

I’ll let you know how it goes, in the meantime let me know your favourite recipes. Love hearing new ideas.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

