MY TBR Pile & Goodreads Challenge

So, I started my Goodreads challenge in March or May and, I won’t lie, from the books I’ve said I was going to read I really haven’t read any. Don’t get me wrong, I really want to read those books I’ve listed however, I just couldn’t bring myself to do it and I couldn’t figure out why.

The other day I re-organised my bookcase and it hit me that I have so many books that I haven’t got around to reading yet that I already own and upon reflection I feel like that may have been a block.

So, I’ve decided that I will read those on the Goodreads List I posted however, not until I have read the majority of books I already own but haven’t got around to reading yet. I’m hoping that by doing this I can finally get out of my slump and actually get going on buying  new books (because that just sounds like my kind of heaven).

The issue is that I have so many on my bookcase (because I usually re-read books or lend from friends, or download on my Kindle, or just buy more etc.) and there are some where I want to finish the series and some I want to re-read the series before I read the last few.

So I’ve picked out some and will just keep adding to the list and keep this updated every so often and see what happens!

  1. The Martian – Andy Weir                        (Bought 2016)
  2. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn                        (Bought Christmas 2015)
  3. The Shining – Stephen King                  (Bought 2015)
  4. United As One – Pitttacus Lore            (Birthday 2016)
  5. Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathan Swift    (Bought 2015)
  6. Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor (Bought 2014)
  7. Assassins Apprentice – Robin Hobb  (Birthday 2015)
  8. The Magician’s Guild – Trudi Canavan (Bought 2014)
  9. The Secret of Crickley Hall – James Herbert (Bought 2012)
  10. Partials – Dan Wells                               (Bought 2013)
  11. Schindler’s Ark – Thomas Keneally  (Bought 2014)
  12. Mary Boleyn ‘The Great and Infamous Whore’ – Alison Weir (Bought 2014)
  13. Wolf Brother – Michelle Paver (Already read in 2007, need to re-read)
  14. Spirit Walker – Michelle Paver –         (Bought 2007)
  15. The Man Who Broke Into Auschwitz (Bought 2014)
  16. Insurgent – Veronica Roth                    (Bought 2016)
  17. Allegiant – Veronica Roth                     (Bought 2016)
  18. Angels and Demons – Dan Brown      (Bought October 2016)
  19. 1st To Die – James Patterson                (Bought September 2016)
  20. 2nd Chance – James Patterson           (Bought September 2016)
  21. 3rd Degree – James Patterson            (Bought September 2016)
  22. Mister Monday – Garth Nix                (Bought 2006)
  23. Animal Farm – George Orwell           (Bought 2015)
  24. 1984 – George Orwell                           (Bought 2015)
  25. Haunted – James Herbert                   (Bought 2015)

So, that’s 25 so far and, though totally unintentional, I think is a pretty good and round number to start off.

I know some might wonder how I remember when I bought these books but some are fairly recent within the last few years and some take place around specific events like when I was in a book club at school and others I remember where I was working working whether I bought it from the shops near there during breaks or after work etc.

There are some series books in here however, I think most are either first books or stand alone. There are so many series I also need to read and re-read but I think I’ll stick with this for now and see how I go, hopefully I can now read freely without feeling pressure to buy more books when I feel bad for the ones already on my shelf!

Let me know what’s on your To Be Read pile, if it’s anything like mine make a cuppa tea or coffee, you’ll be here a while!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

